meeting antoni gaudí: la pedrera & dinner at a sidewalk cafe

Sunday, June 30: Finally, I get off the bus for the last time at Casa Milà, popularly known as La Pedrera, meaning “the quarry.”  This unusual building was constructed between 1906 and 1912 by architect Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926) and declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984. Today it is the headquarters of Fundació Catalunya-La Pedrera and houses a cultural center used for various activities and exhibitions.  (La Pedrera)

La Pedrera
La Pedrera

It was a controversial design at the time with its undulating stone facade and wrought iron, organic-looking, balconies and windows, designed largely by Josep Maria Jujol, who also created some of the plaster ceilings  (Wikipedia: Casa Milà) .

La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
Chimney pots on the roof of La Pedrera
Chimney pots on the roof of La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
View from La Pedrera
View from La Pedrera
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Chimney pots on the rooftop of La Pedrera
View from La Pedrera
View from La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
view of La Sagrada Familia from La Pedrera
view of La Sagrada Familia from La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
view from La Pedrera
view from La Pedrera
Interior well in La Pedrera
Interior well in La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
view off the roof of La Pedrera
view off the roof of La Pedrera
La Pedrera
La Pedrera
Model of La Pedrera
Model of La Pedrera
Kitchen at La Pedrera
Kitchen at La Pedrera
curtains in La Pedrera
curtains in La Pedrera
Dining room at La Pedrera
Dining room at La Pedrera
Salon at La Pedrera
Salon at La Pedrera
bedroom at La Pedrera
bedroom at La Pedrera
Hallway at La Pedrera
Hallway at La Pedrera
Potted plant at La Pedrera
Potted plant at La Pedrera
Art Nouveau door at La Pedrera
Art Nouveau door at La Pedrera
painted ceiling at La Pedrera
painted ceiling at La Pedrera

By the time I finish at La Pedrera, it’s about 7:30 and I’ve been on the go all day, seeing all of the major Gaudi attractions, starting with Casa Batllo in the morning, La Sagrada Familia at 1:00, Park Guell at around 3:30, and La Pedrera at 6:00.  My legs are killing me and I’m exhausted.  All I really want is to be “in search of a thousand cafes,” so I can find the perfect one and have a glass of wine and some dinner.  I happen upon Tenorio Braseria, which entices me because of its purple seats and its great location on leafy Gracia.  There is some great people-watching to be done here.

Tenorio
Tenorio
Tenorio
Tenorio
Tenorio
Tenorio

I order Risotto Mantecato with prawns, thyme and lime.  Every bite is delectable.  If I lived in Barcelona I would get in serious trouble at this place!  Can you tell from the picture that I took a bite, and then remembered I forgot to take a picture?  I tried to fill in the gap where I took the bite by moving the food around a bit.🙂

Risotto for dinner
Risotto for dinner

I don’t normally have dessert with dinner, but as I want to linger here as long as possible, I order “Fine apple pie with calvados liquor and its cinnamon ice cream.”  Yum. 🙂

Apple pie
Apple pie

As I take a leisurely stroll back to my hotel, I see this lovely balcony with a whole garden on it.  I love it!

balconies I pass on my way back to the hotel
balconies I pass on my way back to the hotel

I am so utterly exhausted after this day, that I return to my hotel and put my feet up.  I brought so many good books about Spain along on my Kindle, but I’ve hardly had any energy to read them.  On this trip, at night, I look through all my photos for the day, then I get obsessed with editing them, then I start puttering on my blog, and the next thing I know, I’m sound asleep.  Maybe trying to blog along the way isn’t such a great idea.

Normally I never even take a computer with me when I travel, and in the past I’ve never blogged as I’ve gone along.  I’m getting further and further behind, but I must remember I’m on vacation and RELAX!!  Whatever I don’t get to, I’ll do when I get home! 🙂

11 thoughts on “meeting antoni gaudí: la pedrera & dinner at a sidewalk cafe

    1. I agree with you, Carol. It’s actually dealing with the pictures that’s the hassle. Because I take so many and have to edit them, choose which ones to use, upload them, put captions to them, etc, it’s all very time-consuming. But I love the immediacy of blogging as you go! I do know I’m having trouble keeping up and just have to accept I’ll have to do it at my own pace. Slowly!🙂

  1. I feel your pain! My legs were killing me in Paris. I am still writing about that trip 2-1/2 weeks later. The photos remimd me, and also what I have to say now, in retrospect, is probably more thought out than what I would write during the trip. That’s why I don’t try to write much while traveling, although I always take the computer. I love the photos. Enjoy!

    1. I know, Anne, all the walking you do while traveling is great exercise, but it really does a number on your legs! I was glad to drive yesterday for 7 hours, just for a chance to rest, but of course driving has its own challenges. I’m sure I’ll be writing about this trip long after I get home because I see I just can’t keep up! I’ll have to get to reading other people’s blogs, like your Paris trip, once I return because there just isn’t enough time!!🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Carol. I’m glad you like them. I’m having a little problem with photos now b/c my iPhoto library is full. I may either need to buy a hard drive while traveling, or wait till I get home! Or take the time to delete photos, which I don’t really have time for. Bummer!!

  2. I’ve always wondered what the inside of that “curvy” edifice was like. Your photos are exquisite, demonstrating that on the interior there is not a 90 degree angle anywhere inside or out. It’s so …. organic! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

