andalucía: alcazaba de málaga

Tuesday, July 9:  The Alcazaba de Málaga is the palace-fortress of the Moslem rulers of the city, mostly dating from the 11th century.  It’s built on a spur and mostly adapted to its contours.

I decide to stop in for a visit, and there is a guy sitting at the entrance but he is not selling tickets.  He points me to a machine that I can’t decipher at all and he has to talk me through every step.  So why bother with the machine?  Why not just sell the ticket?  It seems like a big waste of a nation’s resources to me.  Anyway, I plod up and up and up, irritated at the weather for being so hot.

the entrance to the Alcazaba
the entrance to the Alcazaba
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga

As I climb to greater and greater heights, I’m able to see the city of Málaga and its port.  Can you tell how hot it is from the photos?

view of the harbor from Alcazaba de Malaga
view of the harbor from Alcazaba de Malaga
view from the Alcazaba
view from the Alcazaba
the port of Malaga
the port of Malaga

The Alcazaba has some beautiful flowers and gardens, but it’s not as impressive as Seville’s Alcazar.  Sometimes I wonder why, on our vacations, we make so much effort and end up so miserable in the process?   Of course, we have to see these things.  Of course we do.  But sometimes I just want to sit at a cafe and drink about twenty cold beers!  And then jump in the nearest fountain after.

Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
view of gardens from the Alcazaba
view of gardens from the Alcazaba

The Alcazaba was mostly built of limestone, which crumbles easily, and has required frequent rebuilding during its existence.  The most extensive was carried out by Badis, the Ziri king of Granada in the Taifa era, from 1040 and 1065.  He fortified and enlarged it so extensively that some chroniclers consider him the original builder. The greater part of the palace dates from the 14th century, and it was largely restored in 1930.

Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
view of Malaga from the Alcazaba
view of Malaga from the Alcazaba
gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga
gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga
stones in the Alcazaba de Malaga
stones in the Alcazaba de Malaga
gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga
gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga

By the time I climb up the hill in my explorations of the Alcazaba, sweat has soaked my hair and my clothes, which makes me look like a dank dishrag. Thank goodness there is no one here to take pictures of me for posterity.  After having recently escaped Oman’s relentless heat, I’m surprised to find southern Spain experiences temperatures almost equal to the country I just left!

As I soldier on, I find grottoes, magnificent arches, and pools that look so inviting I’m temped to jump in!

gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga
gardens in the Alcazaba de Malaga
beautiful arches in the Alcazaba de Malaga
beautiful arches in the Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga
Alcazaba de Malaga

Sadly, I can’t jump in, but I dream of doing just that. By the time I finish, I’m due to meet Barry, Barry and Carole at the Roman baths, where Barry left us originally.  I think I’m going to take a dip in the pool tonight in the villa.🙂

delicate flowers at the Alcazaba
delicate bottle brush at the Alcazaba
delicate flowers
delicate bottle brush

8 thoughts on “andalucía: alcazaba de málaga

  1. You don’t have to visit every single thing on your list you know my dear. Sometimes those twenty beers and a lounge by the pool is just what you should be doing. It’s a vacation remember, not a research expedition! Give yourself a break and take a day off! You have earned it! One less historical site won’t kill you if you give it a miss.

    1. Yes, I know, but I want to see what I can. I’ll have a whole month to recover at home before I have to go back to work. And yes, I have been doing the beers and wine and nice long meals; I’m definitely enjoying every minute!

  2. We were in Malaga once, years and years and years ago! Didn’t do the Alcazaba, sadly, but toiled up and up and up till the Bullring was just a speck. Can’t even remember why! 🙂

    1. Oh, I bet I know why, Jo. There’s another fort or castle even higher up, above the Alcazaba. You probably walked up there!! I didn’t even make it to the bullring! Oh well, I figure I can’t see everything, and besides what’s the point if no bullfight is happening?🙂

  3. you’re right, it’s not as beautiful as Sevilla’s alcazar but it was my daughter’s favorite castle. go figure! fabulous photos! and I agree, it was worth it for you to visit just so we could enjoy your photos😉 I didn’t realize you had gone to Malaga, una de mis ciudades favoritas de Espana!

Leave a Reply

