driving home from málaga: the sleeping giant and a beautiful sunset

Tuesday, July 9:  After we leave Málaga, we drive back to our villa in Mollina.  We pass the Sleeping Giant, a rock that looks, of course, like a sleeping giant.  The rock formation is also known as the Red Indian, with its sweeping headdress.  There is also a legend that two lovers, one Christian and one Muslim, threw themselves off the nose of the giant because they knew they could never be together.  Thus, it’s also known as the Rock of the Lovers.  All of this comes from Scottish Barry, our guide who has a lot of information in that head of his.

the Sleeping Giant
the Sleeping Giant

On our way home, about an hour’s drive from Málaga, Barry and Carole talk about Rick Stein, a British traveler who does a travel show based on food explorations.  I’ve never heard of him, so I vow to check him out.  Now that’s the job I would like to have!

They also tell me about the 1975 Australian drama and mystery film called Picnic at Hanging Rock.  The film relates the story of several schoolgirls and their teacher’s disappearance during a picnic to Hanging Rock on Valentine’s Day in 1900, and the subsequent effect on the local community.   I decide I need to see that movie based on their enthusiastic recommendation.

After I get back to the villa, I take a dip in the icy cold pool.  Actually, I have to go in by tiny degrees, one step at a time.   I step down, gasp for breath at the pool’s iciness, then I take another step down.  I can only stay in for a few minutes because it’s just too darn cold.  It does help to cool down my overheated body before I get cozy for the night.

After my dip and after eating a sandwich I make using the ham and cheese we bought last night at the Mollina grocery store, I sit on the balcony in my bathing suit and a coverup and work on my blog.  I’m way behind in blogging.  What can I do?  It takes a long time to edit all the zillions of pictures I am taking and then to upload them to the blog.  I’ve given up trying to keep up.

the pool at our villa
the pool at our villa

While sitting on my balcony, I am surprised by the most gorgeous sunset.  Oh, how I love southern Spain!

sunset in Mollina
sunset in Mollina
sunset in Mollina
sunset in Mollina
sunset
sunset
sunset
sunset
goodnight!
goodnight!

My room at Puesta de Sol doesn’t have air conditioning, but by the time I turn on the fan and go to sleep, it’s dreamily pleasant.  I love this ability of Spanish people to leave their windows open at night for the breezes.  Both in Oman and in Washington, I’ve hardly ever been able to leave windows open at night during summer; it’s just too hot and humid.

Tomorrow, we head for Cordoba.🙂

2 thoughts on “driving home from málaga: the sleeping giant and a beautiful sunset

Leave a Reply

