andalucia: flamenco at the jardines de zoraya & a nighttime view of the alhambra from the albaycin

Thursday, July 11: After our Alhambra visit, we drive around the city and up to the top of the atmospheric Albaycin where we have dinner at Jardines de Zoraya, a restaurant that hosts an excellent flamenco performance with young local talented musicians and dancers.

Jardines de Zoraya
Jardines de Zoraya
Carole and Barry at Jardines de Zoraya
Carole and Barry at Jardines de Zoraya
me at Jardines de Zoraya
me at Jardines de Zoraya
me with Barry at Jardines de Zoraya
me with Barry at Jardines de Zoraya
delicious olives, wine, & cheese spread, for starters
delicious olives, wine, & cheese spread, for starters
Gazpacho
Gazpacho

Barry tells us that when watching flamenco, it’s all about the feet and the face.  The feet do most of the movement, and the face should express passion.   It is danced largely in a proud and upright way.  For women, the back is often held in a marked back bend. There is little movement of the hips, the body is tightly held and the arms are long, like a ballet dancer. Many of the dancers have trained in ballet as well as flamenco. I’m impressed by the girl’s footwork, but the male dancer has the passion down.  His facial expressions are very passionate, as if he’s pouring his heart and soul into that dance.  He’s also sweating profusely in his dynamic performance.

Flamenco dancers
Flamenco dancers
Flamenco! Ole!
Flamenco! Ole!
the flamenco guitarist
the flamenco guitarist

For me, dinner is cod loin served with seasonal vegetables.  It’s okay, but nothing special.  It looks really pretty on that blue plate though.

Cod loin served with seasonal vegetables
Cod loin served with seasonal vegetables

Carole has pork sirloin medallions with mozarabic sauce.  She seems quite pleased with her meal.

pork sirloin medallions with mozarabic sauce
pork sirloin medallions with mozarabic sauce

Barry has a roast lamb’s leg with boletus, whatever that is, and truffle cream with garnish.  He finds his meal just okay as well.

Roasted lamb's leg
Roasted lamb’s leg

For dessert, we’re served a sorbet of lemon and mango.  Yum.  I think this and the starters are my favorite parts of the meal.

sorbet of lemon and mango
sorbet of lemon and mango

After dinner, I do as Barry suggested and try to use my debit card to pay for my meal.  The guy runs it through his machine and he says, “Sorry.  This card doesn’t work.”  I say, stomach churning, “Do they say what the problem is?”  He says, “It’s too old; it’s expired.”  I look at the card.  Carole and Barry look at the card.  It definitely says it expires 06/13.  Oh my God!  I’ve grabbed the wrong BB&T card, the one that I found out expired while I was in Barcelona!!  For my post on that, see meeting antoni gaudí: casa batlló.  I would have cut it up immediately in Barcelona, but I didn’t have any scissors so I just put it back in my suitcase.  I must have grabbed it out of my suitcase this morning by mistake. (I had two BB&T cards with me, one for my personal account that EXPIRED on June 30, and one from the Joint Account that I have with Mike.  I knew the one from my account had expired; I thought the bank was rejecting the Joint Account card!)  All that worry for nothing.

Both Barrys and Carole get a good laugh out of this and they ask me if I will tell Mike what happened, after all my panicked texts to him this afternoon while he was in his doctor’s appointment.  I say I’m not going to tell him anytime soon, but I probably will tell him after I get home.  It will be the source of great amusement for him for some time, I’m sure; and I’ll become the butt of many jokes because of it.  Ouch.

After dinner, we take a five-minute walk to the viewing point at San Nichols where we see the beautiful Alhambra lit up at night set against the backdrop of the Sierra Nevada mountains.  It’s really is fantastic!

The Alhambra at night
The Alhambra at night
Alhambra at night
Alhambra at night
the Alhambra
the Alhambra
the Alhambra
the Alhambra
the Alhambra
the Alhambra

Today is the last big day of our tour, and we don’t get back to the villa until midnight.  I realize I’m going to miss Carole and Barry and Scottish Barry when we part ways tomorrow.  In the morning, we’re going to see some Dolmens near Antequera; after that, at around 1:00, I’ll be meeting Marianne & Michael from East of Málaga …. and more! for a two-night stay at their house.🙂

6 thoughts on “andalucia: flamenco at the jardines de zoraya & a nighttime view of the alhambra from the albaycin

Leave a Reply

