dinner & a promenade in torre del mar

Saturday, July 13:  This evening we head out to the town of Torre del Mar, a largish seaside town and busy summer beach resort on the Costa del Sol, boasting one of the longest and widest beaches along the coast.  We meet Ross and Daniella, Marianne and Michael’s neighbors, and wander along the streets of the town, trying to decide where to eat.  We come across some alien-looking plants along the way.

strange and ancient plant on the street of Torre del Mar
strange and ancient plant on the street of Torre del Mar
tree trunk on the street of Torre del Mar
tree trunk on the street of Torre del Mar

Marianne wants to go inside the bar section of El Yate, which means The Yacht, because it’s a lively place and has great ambiance.  Tonight it’s so lively, we can’t even find a table or a place at the bar.  Instead we opt to sit outdoors.

Daniella, Ross, Michael and Marianne at El Yate
Daniella, Ross, Michael and Marianne at El Yate

I’m wearing one of the new “Spanish skirts” I bought in Barcelona, which makes me feel like I fit right in.

Michael, me and Marianne at Al Yate
Michael, me and Marianne at Al Yate
Daniella, Ross, Michael and Marianne at El Yate
Daniella, Ross, Michael and Marianne at El Yate
Tinto de Verra at El Yate
Tinto de Verano at El Yate

El Yate is a marisqueria, which is an open-air seafood restaurant.  We order some tinto de verano and some seafood tapas, including Rosada.

the menu for El Yate, which means The Yacht
the menu for El Yate, which means The Yacht

Rosada is a white fish, flaky and juicy like cod but of denser texture.  The full name is Rosada del Cabo, which means “rosy thing of the cape.” The Cape refers to South Africa.  Tonight it is cooked á la plancha (gently braised in a persillage of finely chopped parsley and garlic in olive oil).  (Al-Andaloose: What is Rosada?)

Rosada del Cabo
Rosada del Cabo

I can’t remember the second type of fish we eat, but it’s slightly breaded and fried.  However, my favorite is the Rosada.

another fish
another fish

A man walks by selling some aromatic jasmine, heady in the cool night air.

sweet-scented jasmine
sweet-scented jasmine

For dessert, we have chocolate cups filled with a sweet liquor.  It’s delicious.🙂

chocolate cups for dessert
chocolate cups for dessert

After dinner, we take a long stroll through the town, where we find whole Spanish families out having a grand time.  Everyone from elderly grandparents to little children are out gallivanting into the late hour.  We browse in the market stalls of the night market.

the outdoor night market in Torre del Mar
the outdoor night market in Torre del Mar
strolling on the promenade
strolling on the promenade
the beach promenade in Torre del Mar
the beach promenade in Torre del Mar

After stopping for a gelato, we drive back to the house.  I have to get up early tomorrow morning, as I’m catching a 7:20 bus from Torrox to Seville, and then from Seville to Tavira in Portugal.   It’s certainly been a lovely time visiting with Marianne and Michael in their whitewashed house perched on the mountainside in Andalucía.🙂

17 thoughts on “dinner & a promenade in torre del mar

    1. Yes, that was a lovely evening, Marianne, so relaxing and laid back. It was nice to experience a truly Spanish city in such wonderful company. Thanks for filling me in on the fish; I think I will correct the post. I was hoping you’d step in and enlighten me!🙂

      I also updated my post about the first night we met to tell how you helped me with the bus tickets. I also put links to ALSA and EVA in case anyone wanted the information. I forgot about that when I first wrote the post, but that was truly such a big help to me!🙂 xxx

      1. You’re so welcome, Cathy. Glad to be of help.

        It was strange how the ALSA website wouldn’t accept your credit card, but the EVA one would!

        I’m so glad you took me up on my invitation🙂 Delighted to have met you, at last. xx

      2. Yes, you’re right, Marianne. I don’t know why the ALSA website wouldn’t accept my card but EVA would. Very strange indeed. It was sure good that you were there to help me navigate and figure out everything!

        I’m really glad to have taken you up on your invitation too! I can’t imagine why I would have turned you down! I hope you’ll come visit me sometime in return. It was all delightful and gave me some wonderful company on what could have been a very lonely trip.🙂 xxx

  1. That fish looked glorious! What a lovely posting! Marianne, you and Michael seem like the kindest people ever! I loved reading about your home and your beautiful corner of paradise! I am not surprised you had such a wonderful time with Cathy, we miss her very much over here in Oman. We are happy she is home, but we miss her! God bless you both!

  2. Like the look of the rosada🙂
    What a strange tree trunk that is! I’ve never seen jasmine sold like this- looks wonderful.
    Isn’t it strange how much difference a few miles can make? 🙂

  3. I recognize your “Spanish skirt” as a “Designal”. When I was in Madrid last year I bought several pieces of their beautiful funky clothing.

    I’ve seen trees like the one on the top but I’ve never seen that kind of jasmine.

    1. Right you are about the skirt, Rosie. Good for you! I’d love to see yours because I loved that line of clothing. I would have bought a lot more if I could have fit them in my already heavy luggage!🙂

      1. I bought a [short] skirt, a pair of pants, a shirt and a dress! And love them all. I didn’t see long skirts last summer or I would’ve bought one. (I had to get another little bag for all all my new clothes because they didn’t fit into my backpack!)

      2. Rosie, you’re a woman after my own heart! I wish I had seen a short skirt, I would have bought one in a heartbeat. Did you buy those balloon-like pants? I don’t remember seeing shirts either, but maybe I didn’t look hard enough. I left there with three long skirts, two of which were quite bulky, and this was after mailing a package of stuff back to the USA to lighten my suitcase!! It filled it back up and then some! I would love to go back with an empty suitcase and spend hours browsing and buying!🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Our Travels Around The Globe and commented:
    Over the past few days we’ve had Cathy staying with us. I met Cathy online through blogging and was delighted when she accepted my invitation to stay, so I could show her some of the lovely towns and villages, east of Malaga.

    This post is re-blogged from Cathy’s own blog, in which she describes our precious time together.

Leave a Reply

