a day in evora: universidade de evora

Wednesday, July 17:  This morning, I meander out in the town knowing there’s a lot to see and hoping throughout the day to hit most of it.  I don’t even have much of a plan; I just start walking and soon I run into the Universidade de Evora, unmarked, with its door open to the world.    I have heard from my friend Jo that there are some nice cloisters here, so I go in search of them.

Unmarked entrance to Universidade de Evora
Unmarked entrance to Universidade de Evora

The current university, which was reopened in 1973, descends from the original Jesuit institution founded in 1559.  Two hundred years after its founding, in 1759, due to the Jesuit expulsion promoted by the Minister of the Kingdom, Marquis of Pombal, it was closed.

I love the painted entryway.

Entry hall
Entry hall

The doorway is flanked by azulejos (hand-painted tiles) for which Portugal is famous.

Azulejo is a form of Portuguese painted, tin-glazed, ceramic tilework.  It has been produced without interruption for five centuries.  The azulejos are found on the interior and exterior of churches, palaces, ordinary houses and even railway stations.  They are applied on walls, floors and even ceilings. They are not only used as an ornamental art form, but also have a specific function of temperature control. Many azulejos chronicle major historical and cultural aspects of Portuguese history.  (Wikipedia: Azulejo)

doorway bordered by azulejos
doorway bordered by azulejos

It’s only as I wander through the halls of higher learning that I figure out it is, in fact, the university.  Here’s one clue!

I guess it is in fact the university!
I guess it is in fact the university!

Inside are the beautiful arched, Italian Renaissance-style cloisters that Jo told me about.

the Italian, Renaissance-style cloisters
the Italian, Renaissance-style cloisters
the cloisters
the cloisters
cloisters of Universidade de Evora
cloisters of Universidade de Evora

And here’s me, resting with the azulejos, before venturing back into the town.

me having a seat with the azulejos at the university
me having a seat with the azulejos at the university

2 thoughts on “a day in evora: universidade de evora

    1. Yes, it was weird; I felt like a trespasser too, especially with my camera over my shoulder. I obviously looked like a tourist and not a student! It was fun to go in though and I loved that entryway!

Leave a Reply

