lisbon: castelo de são jorge

Monday, July 22: The Castelo de São Jorge in Lisbon’s Alfama district has been occupied by Visigoths in the 5th century, Moors in the 9th century, Christians in the 12th century, royals from the 14th to 16th centuries, and convicts in every century, according to Lonely Planet Portugal.

one of many happy peacocks at Castelo de São Jorge
one of many happy peacocks at Castelo de São Jorge
statue at Castelo de São Jorge
statue at Castelo de São Jorge

The castle is like many others I’ve seen through Europe, but the best thing about Castelo de São Jorge is the view of Lisbon’s red rooftops from the fortified ramparts around the courtyards.

courtyard at Castelo de São Jorge
courtyard at Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge
view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge

I spend quite some time here wandering around and taking pictures, but at this point in my trip, I’m a little castled out.  It’s hot and I’m still missing Sintra’s cool and crisp air and its fairy tale-like atmosphere.  However, I go through the castle and its mostly bare courtyards and walk around the perimeter of the ramparts taking multitudes of pictures of Lisbon from on high.

view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge
view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge
view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge
view of Lisbon from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
view from Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Castelo de São Jorge
Lisbon! Oh Lisbon!
Lisbon! Oh Lisbon!

Then I head out into the Alfama district to see what there is to see.  Of course since I’ve barely read my guidebook, I don’t really know what there is to see.  Nonetheless, I wander.  Yes.

22 thoughts on “lisbon: castelo de são jorge

      1. I’ve actually only ever been up north – to Porto! It would be great to visit Lisbon this year (it’s possible – my roommate is from there!). Porto’s great – it’s one of my favourite places I’ve been. For some reason, I grew up with a soft spot for Portugal, so seeing your pictures reminds me I need to go again!

      2. Well, I’m going to have to get to Porto! I have a dream to walk the Camino de Santiago and then head to Porto after. I also never made it to Madrid while I was in Spain, although I went to Barcelona, Toledo and all of Andalucia. I adored it all!🙂

  1. Ah yes, I have a friend doing that walk right now! I know of a few who did it earlier in the summer. It seems very ambitious and spiritually awakening. It would be great to do – personally, I’ve chosen against it, as I see it as spiritual (and I don’t identify with the religion it stems from), but many people actually do it for the walk itself.
    Wonderful that you’ve been to the major spots in Spain! I hope you visited Granada as well – it’s possibly the best tourist destination in Spain (in my opinion).

    1. Yes, I think people do the walk for many different reasons. I think of it as a spiritual challenge, but not necessarily to do with Catholicism. Yes, I did visit Granada, which I loved, but actually Cordoba was my favorite, especially the Mezquita!

  2. I must be feeling maudlin today, Cathy. I’m reading this with tears in my eyes and I’m not even sure why. My favourite photo is that courtyard one with the little statue in the niche. Lisbon looks huge from up there, doesn’t it?
    Love ya, Cathy. Take care🙂

    1. I wonder why this is bringing tears to your eyes, Jo. Maybe you are really missing Portugal and the lure of travel. Sometimes it’s so hard to be grounded at home when your feet want to carry you somewhere exotic. I loved the views of Lisbon from the seven hills! Love you too, Jo! I hope all is well.🙂

  3. Love the rooftops too. Great views from the castle – which is another place I didn’t get into on account that it was almost closing time by the time we got up there! Still there were great views on the way up – and down! You had great weather Cathy, we were hit by heavy rain one day in Lisbon (May). Can’t wait to see where you went on your last day there🙂
    Jude xx

    1. I was really lucky during my entire trip for a month through Spain and Portugal, Jude. I don’t think I really ever had any rain, at least not that I can remember. Don’t worry about missing the castle; it wasn’t that exciting, though the views were amazing. So far, what I’ve posted was from one day, and the rest I will post in a day or so will be on the REST of that same day! I had to break it up into pieces, otherwise it would be way too long. After I finish posting about this day, I have two more days remaining to post about; during one of them, I went on a day trip to Cascais! I really do wish I was still there in Portugal!🙂

Leave a Reply

