lisbon’s bairro alto

Tuesday, July 23:  I’m not a big party girl while I’m on holiday, but if I were, Lisbon’s Bairro Alto would be the place to play.  The neighborhood is a short walk from my hotel, and this afternoon I explore its graffiti-splashed streets during the sleepy daylight hours.

the streets of Bairro Alto
the streets of Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto

This evening at 8:00, I’ll walk back to this part of the neighborhood to attend a fado performance at Luso.

Luso ~ where I go to hear fado tonight
Luso ~ where I go to hear fado tonight
Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto
tiles in Bairro Alto
tiles in Bairro Alto

I stop for a late lunch at what has quickly become my favorite lunch spot, LOSTin, right across the street from my hotel, with grand views of Lisbon.  I order a sandwich and enjoy the pink, green and royal blue wicker chairs shaded by Indian patchwork umbrellas.  This Esplanada Bar is an Indian snack-like restaurant that serves meals like toasts, wraps and sandwiches, but with an Indian flavor.

LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin

I order a ham and cheese sandwich, but it sounds a lot more fancy than that on the menu.

My sandwich at LOSTin
My sandwich at LOSTin

After lunch, I continue to explore the neighborhood, passing by the Elevador da Gloria once again.

Elevador de Gloria
Elevador de Gloria
Tiled facades in Bairro Alto
Tiled facades in Bairro Alto
Graffiti-covered walls in Bairro Alto
Graffiti-covered walls in Bairro Alto
Street art in Bairro Alto
Street art in Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto streets
Bairro Alto streets
windows in Bairro Alto
windows in Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto
More street art in Bairro Alto
More street art in Bairro Alto

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “lisbon’s bairro alto

  1. I’m annoyed that I missed that café LOSTin – sounds good, and looks great! Some more of my photos here I see on your wander in Bairro Alto, though I missed the lovely musical tiled building😀

    1. Well, Jude, I think it means you need to go back to Lisbon, just to find LOSTin! Stay at the same hotel where I stayed too; I really liked the neighborhood of Bairro Alto. Funny how we have many of the same pictures!

    1. Yes, it seems already like a lifetime ago, Jo. At least I can always go back and relive it through my blog. I still have a couple of posts about Lisbon, then one on Cascais. I wonder when I will ever get to finish!🙂

      1. Well, my weekend was work, work and more work, Jo, but the few minutes I had to myself were lovely.🙂 I hope Adam’s on his way. We’ll see what happens when all is said and done.

    1. Thanks so much, Charlie. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures. I highly recommend Lisbon, and if you go there, be sure and spend a couple of days in Sintra and at least one in Cascais. 🙂

  2. I love those tall colourful buildings, I always wonder how they are decorated inside. LOSTin seems to be a great find – you’re do good at hunting out nice places to eat🙂

    1. I would love to see how Lisbon’s buildings are decorated inside, Gilly. I wish I could have gone into some Portuguese homes. LOSTin was a wonderful place to eat and had such a great atmosphere. I love seeking out good dining spots.🙂

Leave a Reply

