my last afternoon in lisbon

Wednesday, July 24:  I return to Lisbon from Cascais in the late afternoon and take a long walk from the train station up an endless hill to Bairro Alto.  Here I stumble upon my last sighting of pastel de nata.  Oh how I will miss this treat when I leave Portugal tomorrow morning.

pastel de nata
pastel de nata

I’ll miss the mosaic cobbled walkways of the city.

streets of Lisbon
streets of Lisbon

And the dramatic statues in serene parks.

a statue in a park
a statue in a park

I drop into the Basilica dos Martires, dedicated to the martyrs who participated in the 1147 reconquest of Lisbon from the Moors.  This beautiful Baroque church was built after the 1755 earthquake on the site of another where the first baptism after the reconquest took place.  It was completed in 1784.  Inside is a marble altar and a beautifully painted ceiling, as well as an organ that’s considered one of the best in the country (LisbonLux: Basilica dos Martires).

more Lisbon architecture
Basilica dos Martires

I think the ceiling in this church is one of the most beautiful I have seen during my trip.

the ceiling of Basilica dos Martires
the ceiling of Basilica dos Martires

I’ll miss Portugal’s amazing architecture and Lisbon’s colorful buildings and street lamps.

street lamps
street lamps

I also drop into the skeletal Convento do Carmo; all that remains after the 1755 Lisbon earthquake and a later violent fire are its cracked pillars and soaring arches, reaching longingly into the heavens.

Carmo Ruins
Carmo Ruins
arches to the heavens
arches to the heavens

The Carmo Archeological Museum keeps and exhibits important pieces of sculpture from the Carmo monastery and church, as well as from many other ancient buildings, such as monastic houses.  It also holds works from prehistoric times until the present day.

inside the Carmo Archeological Museum
inside the Carmo Archeological Museum
me at the Carmo Archeological Museum
me at the Carmo Archeological Museum
the Carmo Ruins
the Carmo Ruins
entrance to the Carmo Archeological Museum
entrance to the Carmo Archeological Museum

I continue heading up the hill past inviting cafes and the Teatro da Trinidad.

outdoor cafe
outdoor cafe
theater
theater

And I head back to my favorite spot in Lisbon, LOSTin, for a beer and some parting views of the city.

LOSTin Esplanade Bar
LOSTin Esplanade Bar
color decor as LOSTin
color decor as LOSTin
me enjoying Lisbon views and a beer at LOSTin
me enjoying Lisbon views and a beer at LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin
LOSTin

After going back to my hotel to rest a bit, I venture out one last time to have some dinner.  I pass more Lisbon balconies, which I wistfully wish were mine.

Lisbon balcony
Lisbon balcony

And I surprise myself by stopping into a sushi place that has been bustling every time I’ve passed it by.  The food is delicious, even though as a parting Lisbon experience, it’s not exactly Portuguese food.🙂

sushi bar
sushi bar
my last dinner in Lisbon: sushi
my last dinner in Lisbon: sushi

Finally, I return to my hotel, where I request an early morning wake-up call for my flight back home to the USA.😦

18 thoughts on “my last afternoon in lisbon

  1. Loved seeing your smiley face one last time in Lisbon, Cathy 🙂
    By the way- a beautiful card arrived today and now has pride of place on my mantelpiece. Thank you so much! Big hug 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jo. I can’t believe it took me so long to post this when I didn’t really have that much to say!

      I’m glad you got the card. Do you think snail mail could be any slower? I sent it on October 29! Hugs to you too, Jo! xxx 🙂

  2. Ah, those pastel de nata tarts are amazing. I got quite addicted to having one with coffee for breakfast! And that entrance to the Carmo Museum is wonderful. Thanks for bringing back such good memories of Lisbon. How did you like Cascais? Did you stay there, or just pass through? I can’t remember any posts about it other than pictures.

    Hope everything is working out well for you. Haven’t forgotten that I owe you an email, just been a bit busy lately. Hopefully I’ll be in touch this week🙂

    1. I so miss those pastel de nata, Jude!! And how I miss Portugal and Spain. I belong there, I know! Either there or Greece. And I haven’t even been to Italy yet!!

      I loved Cascais but didn’t do anything really special there; I just wandered around. I wrote a post but really didn’t have much to say: https://catbirdineurope.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/charming-cascais/

      I guess if I want to become a travel writer I need to provide a lot more details and local color!

      Don’t worry about an email. I hardly have time to write my blog or answer emails until my semester is over on December 16. I’m also taking a travel writing course and trying to revise my novel, lofty goals for the month of November. Plus, it’s my first time home for Thanksgiving in three years, so I have a number of family obligations. Take your time and hopefully we can correspond more in mid-December!

Leave a Reply

