travel theme: sweet

Friday, July 26:  This week, Ailsa of Where’s my backpack? challenges us to come up with something sweet.   She asks us to: Whisper a sweet nothing and send it my way.

On my trip through Spain and Portugal, I sampled delectable sweets all along the way.  I have a few extra bulges around my waist as a result.  Here’s to you, Ailsa, some sweet nothings coming your way.

The Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona is a colorful feast of sweets: fruit juices, fruits, and candies galore.

sweet fruit juices at the Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona
sweet fruit juices at the Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona
sweet fruit at Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona
sweet fruit at Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona
candies at Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona
candies at Mercat de la Boqueria in Barcelona

One sweet treat that beckons from nearly every street in Spain and Portugal is gelato.  I tried to sample as much as I could. :-)  This gelato cart was on the street in Tavira, Portugal.  Jo of restlessjo and I were in search of fig and almond gelato, which she raves about.  Sadly for me, though this cart usually sells Jo’s favorite flavor, they are out of it on this night.

gelato in Tavira, Portugal
gelato in Tavira, Portugal

Toledo, Spain is famous for its marzipan.  Of course, I had to sample some.

marzipan in Toledo, Spain
marzipan in Toledo, Spain

A churro, sometimes referred to as a Spanish doughnut, is a fried-dough pastry-based snack. It is normally eaten for breakfast dipped in hot chocolate or cafe con leche.  It’s delicious!

churros and chocolate in Granada, Spain
churros and chocolate in Granada, Spain

And finally, one of Portugal’s great culinary wonders is the cinnamon-dusted pastel de nata (custard tart), with its flaky crust and creamy center.  I tasted lots of these throughout Portugal, but this one was at Cafe Pielas In Sintra.

cinnamon-dusted pastel de nata in Portugal
cinnamon-dusted pastel de nata in Portugal

I have to say that some of the best sweets to be found are in Europe!🙂

40 thoughts on “travel theme: sweet

  1. Oh my, I think I have put on half a stone just looking at this post [groan]. I loved the pastel de nata from Portugal, made a nice breakfast treat with coffee. I also fell for the Bled Cake from Lake Bled – I shall see if I have a photo to post for this challenge😉
    Jude xx

    1. I definitely put on some pounds around my middle while on this trip, Jude. Pastel de nata is wonderful, isn’t it? Bled Cake? I’ve never sampled that. Look forward to seeing your post.🙂

    1. You’re so right, Joan. I don’t think all the eating of sweets, tapas, and heavy Portuguese food was good for my waistline, or my cholesterol readings!! Now I’m going to go on a super healthy regime.🙂

  2. Glad to see you’re back in the groove, Cathy. Did you not manage to find F & A icecream in Sintra or Lisbon? You can’t have been trying 🙂 (just as well with all those pasteis de nata)
    Thanks for the mention, by the way. I seem to be in icecream mode. Out with the walkers this week I had Jaffa cake and Cinder toffee flavours. Our excuse was the warm (beautiful) weather. 🙂

    1. Jo, sadly I never found the fig and almond ice cream in either Sintra or Lisbon; I popped into various gelato shops in both places asking about it, but the ones where I stopped didn’t have it.😦 But I did eat a lot of pastels de nata!)

      I added a blogroll about places to stay, tours and favorite blogs about the area to my sidebar, so you have a permanent link on my page to yours. I don’t even know what Jaffa cake or Cinder toffee flavors are, but they all sound mighty enticing! Glad you’re enjoying the good weather. I know that makes you really happy.🙂

      In the USA, our weather has been about 27, which is highly unusual for this time of year; usually it’s hot, sticky and uncomfortable. I’m sure that weather will be back, but I’ll enjoy this while we have it.🙂

  3. I agree. But strangely, the best Pastel de Nata I have tasted was not in Portugal, but in Macau!! Meant to try out Comme el Lisbon in Paris this time, but we were too full one visit, and it was closed on our next visit.

Leave a Reply

