travel theme: architecture

Monday, August 12:  Ailsa’s Travel Theme (Where’s my backpack?) for this week is architecture.  I’ve been having a bit of a hard time with this one because it’s such a broad theme.  As a matter of fact, I would say my entire trip through Spain and Portugal this summer was about the architecture (and the food!), so you could look at my entire travelogue to see some amazing architecture.  For this challenge, I’m going to limit myself to three places, four photos.  These are some of my favorites, but are of course not all-inclusive!

First choice, hands down, Cordoba’s Mezquita.  To see lots more pictures, you can check out my post: andalucía: córdoba’s stunning mezquita.

Cordoba's Mezquita
Cordoba’s Mezquita

Second choice, Seville’s Alcázar.  If you’d like to see more, you can visit: the alcázar in seville.

Seville's Alcázar
Seville’s Alcázar
Seville's Alcázar
Seville’s Alcázar

And finally, I have to include at least one place from beautiful Sintra, in Portugal: the gorgeous Palace of Monserrate.

Palace of Monserrate
Palace of Monserrate

40 thoughts on “travel theme: architecture

  1. Been to the Alcazar, brilliant but your first photo is the money shot. I was going to put up some more of the parador but got deflected by crisis of a day yesterday and chose to record that instead.

    1. Thanks for visiting and for your comment, cyardin. You will love it when you go! That was the reason I went, and I loved every minute. Well, almost every minute. It was well worth it.🙂

  2. The Mezquita wins hands down, Cathy! You got some great shots there.
    I was going to say “can’t wait for your Sintra shots” then I spotted the other challenge post. You’ve got enough pics to feed the challenges for years! 🙂

    1. Haha, Jo, and you haven’t seen nothing yet!🙂 I have so many pictures of Sintra it may take me months to post them !!🙂 Still love that Mezquita. And Sintra is a little slice of heaven.🙂

  3. Wonderful choices for the theme: I love Moorish architecture and all of these images are great shots and it is difficult to pick a favourite, but I go with the Mezquita too. Such dramatic colours!
    Jude xx

    1. Surprisingly, there was hardly anyone in the Mezquita, Andrew. It was in July, but apparently July isn’t a big month for the “historical circuit” in Andalucia. It was about 40-something degrees in Cordoba. In Seville it was 43!! Not a lot of big crowds to contend with, luckily. Except at the Alhambra.🙂

Leave a Reply

