weekly photo challenge: sea

Saturday, August 31:  The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is SEA.

Sarah Rosso writes: Sea. What kind of emotions does the sea or ocean make you feel? Do you remember the first time you went in the water? Had a wave crash on you? Felt the sand burn your feet? Do you feel more peaceful around water? Do you hate the beach? What’s the most interesting thing about the sea for you?

In a new post specifically for this challenge, share a photo which means SEA to you!

I used to love the sea, making frequent trips to Virginia Beach or the Outer Banks as a teenager, slathering myself in baby oil, lying in the hot sun and listening to Seals & Crofts’ “Summer Days” on a boom box.  I’d enjoy the salty smell of the sea and the lapping of the waves on the shore while getting lost in a good book, or I’d fall asleep in the hot sun, covered in a thin and sticky coat of sand.  Whenever I got hot or bored, I’d wade through the surf and go for a swim, floating on the waves and letting the motion carry my body, which felt light and buoyant.

These days, I don’t enjoy the sea in the same way that I used to.  I don’t really like to swim in it anymore, and neither do I enjoy lying in unrelenting sunlight with a sprinkle of sand sticking to my body as I were some Velcro strip.  I prefer to either walk along the edge of the sea in the cool off-season, or I enjoy watching its shimmering and dancing surface from a high-up vantage point.

Here’s the way I best enjoy the sea these days.  From Oia, Santorini, Greece in September 2012.

the sea from Oia, Santorini, Greece
the sea from Oia, Santorini, Greece

33 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: sea

    1. Thanks, Madhu. I wonder what happened to my love of sitting on the beach?? I just don’t like gritty sand all over me any more!

      We definitely share a love of Santorini! Among other places!🙂

  1. Recently, something has been pulling me to Greece… I have been craving its light and colour. You’ve just fuelled the fire a little further with this beautiful picture. I can feel the warmth and the clean air and would happily jump into those blue waters. Thanks🙂

  2. Beautiful blue. I admit that I still like to bob around in the salt water, especially if it’s really warm. But what I really like doing is building sandcastles with my grandsons as well as look for shells.

Leave a Reply

