the algarve: dinner at “a taska” & a stroll in tavira

Monday, July 15:  After we rest a bit at Jo’s house, we take a long walk into town to have dinner at a wonderful restaurant called A Taska, which means “a simple place to eat.”

entering A Taska
entering A Taska

Jo tells me that the menu here is all about the sauces.  We first peruse the leather-bound menu.

the menu at A Taska
the menu at A Taska
a menu of sauces
a menu of sauces

Everyone who follows me knows that I take my dining experiences while traveling seriously!  I love to eat and I enjoy the artful presentation of food, the ambiance and decor in restaurants, and the relaxation of sharing a good meal accompanied by a glass of wine.  I think everyone here, including Jo, Mick, the owner and waiter, get a hoot out of me running around photographing everything.  Like Jo says in her post, Meeting a Catbird:  “Charm turned up full (with maybe a little extra confidence from the port), she proceeded to photograph the decor, the menu, the food, and of course, Luis and Phillipe.  “She’s funny” said the latter, rolling his dark eyes and minding not a bit.”

I think Jo’s right that the port, along with the fun-loving company of her and Mick, do give me a little boost of confidence!   🙂

Phillipe the waiter
Phillipe the waiter
decor on the bar
decor on the bar
A Taska
A Taska

I order the Taska Sauce with Chicken Breast.  The Taska sauce consists of cream, mustard, Oporto Wine and Prawns.  Yum!

Taska Sauce with Chicken Breast
Taska Sauce with Chicken Breast
Jo in A Taska
Jo in A Taska
Mick and Jo
Mick and Jo
Cats in the bathroom
Cats in the bathroom
Luis, the owner of A Taska
Luis, the owner of A Taska

After the delicious dinner, we walk through the town and stop into a little shop, Casa das Portas (House of Doors?), which sells some beautiful photographs of Portuguese doors and windows that are transferred to canvas.  I love them and want to buy one or two, but Jo is not going to allow me to add anything else to my suitcase!!  I don’t blame her, as this afternoon, I set aside some stuff I’d like to ship back to the USA tomorrow morning before we leave for Faro, even though this morning, I found the post office here does not ship by surface, only by air, at the exorbitant cost of 78 euros.  Which of course means queuing at the post office again.  I know, call me crazy!

Casa das Portas
Casa das Portas
Casa das Portas
door and window canvases at Casa das Portas

We continue our stroll through the town.  It’s beautiful all lit up at night, and I enjoy seeing the Portuguese families out strolling, eating, laughing and chattering.

Tavira all bright and sparkly
Tavira all bright and sparkly
a square in Tavira
a square in Tavira

Jo got my mouth watering all day over the promise of almond and fig ice cream, so she takes me straightaway to her favorite little kiosk to sample some.  Sadly, tonight, the almond and fig flavor is missing in action. 😦

no fig and almond ice cream for me tonight :-(
no fig and almond ice cream for me tonight 😦

We stroll around looking for the same flavor in other spots, and we find something close:

We settle for Figo Seco
We settle for Figo Seco
Me enjoying a Figo Seco ice cream
Me enjoying a Figo Seco ice cream
Jo enjoys a cone too
Jo enjoys a cone too
a church decked out for some upcoming festival
a church decked out for some upcoming festival
the Church of Carmo with a necklace of lights
the Church of Carmo with a necklace of lights

We return to Jo’s house where I sleep contentedly after a lovely day.  Tomorrow, I’ll head to Evora in the Alentejo.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

8 thoughts on “the algarve: dinner at “a taska” & a stroll in tavira

  1. I’m sure Luis and Philippe will be delighted with this, Cathy. It’s a shame they haven’t got a website or Facebook page. We’ll have to get them organised!
    Your shots came out great. I really love them 🙂 I’m just going to pass this over to Mick so he can have a look too. Many thanks, honeybun. 🙂

    1. I hope you’ll show them the post, Jo, if you can. It is too bad they don’t have a website or Facebook page. I like these photos of you, Jo. I think they’re very flattering and you can feel free to borrow them to use as you see fit!

      1. Thanks, Cathy. I do too 🙂
        I’ll have been blogging 2 years next month and I think a shake up is due. I’m sort of thinking about it.

      2. Hmmm, I’d love to know what you’re going to do next, Jo! I guess I’ll have to wait to see what evolves. It’s fun to come up with something new! I’m a little lost in America… have to figure out what to do here as well. 🙂

Leave a comment